Assisted living facilities are required to maintain minimum staffing standards as part of the facility's day-to-day operations. The minimum requirements are based on the staff person's role in the facility.
Minimum Staffing Requirements
Every facility shall be under the supervision of an administrator who is responsible for the operation and maintenance of the facility including the management of all staff and the provision of adequate care to all residents as required by Chapter 429, Part I, F.S., Chapter 408, Part II, F.S.and Chapter 58A-5, F.A.C.
The administrators must be:
- At least 21 years of age
- If employed on or after August 15, 1990, have a high school diploma or general equivalency diploma (G.E.D.), or have been an operator or administrator of a licensed assisted living facility in the State of Florida for at least one of the past 3 years in which the facility has met minimum standards. Administrators employed on or after October 30, 1995, must have a high school diploma or G.E.D
- Be in compliance with Level 2 background screening standards pursuant to s. 408.809, F.S.
- Successfully complete the ALF Core Training Program pursuant to Rule 58A-5.0191, F.A.C.
Administrators may supervise a maximum of either three assisted living facilities or a combination of housing and health care facilities or agencies on a single campus.
Administrators who supervise more than one facility shall appoint in writing a separate "manager" for each facility who must:
- Be at least 21 years old
- Complete the core training requirement pursuant to Rule 58A-5.0191.
ALF staff must meet the requirements specified in Rules 58A-5.019 and 58A-5.0191, Florida Administrative Codes.
ALF minimum staffing standards are located in Rule 58A-5.019(4), Florida Administrative Code.