text size A  A  A 

Alzheimer's Disease Advisory Committee

Historical Information

The Alzheimer’s Disease Advisory Committee is a 10-member panel that advises the Department of Elder Affairs regarding legislative, programmatic and administrative matters that are related to individuals with Alzheimer’s disease and their caretakers. Committee members must be Florida residents and reflect the following representation:

    • At least four of the 10 members must be licensed pursuant to Chapter 458 or 459 of Florida Statutes or hold a Ph.D. degree and be currently involved in research of Alzheimer’s disease;

    • The 10 members must include a least four persons who have been caregivers of victims of Alzheimer’s disease;

    • Whenever possible, there should be one individual from each of the following professions: a gerontologist, a geriatric psychiatrist, a geriatrician, a neurologist, a social worker and a registered nurse.

Members are appointed to four-year staggered terms. The committee elects one of its members to serve as chair for a one-year term. Committee meetings are held quarterly or as frequently as needed.

Persons seeking to become a committee member should visit the website for the Executive Office of the Governor (http://www.flgov.com/gubernatorial-appointment/) to apply.

Committee Members as of October 2018

Dr. Ronald Lucchino
Professor Emeritus & Retired Director, Institute of Gerontology, Utica College, New York

Peggy Connelly - Advocate, Caregiver

Jamie Glavich - Caregiver
Almost Home Senior Services

Thomas J. Buckley, Ed. D

Dr. Ronald Lucchino, adjunct professor at the University of South Florida

Aileen Ruess, Owner of Ace Senior Care Management

Dr. Robert Glueckauf, Florida State University College of Medicine

Dr. Maria Ordóñez, Director of the Florida Atlantic University College of Nursing Memory and Wellness Center

Scott Plakon of Longwood, Representative - District 29

Role of the Committee

In accordance with Section 430.501(2), Florida Statutes, there is created an Alzheimer’s Disease Advisory Committee, composed of 10 members to be selected by the Governor, which shall advise the Department of Elderly Affairs in the performance of its duties under this act. All members must be residents of the state. The committee shall advise the Department regarding legislative, programmatic, and administrative matters that relate to individuals with Alzheimer’s disease and their caregivers.

ADI summary of accomplishments

This Summary of Accomplishments details the progress made towards bettering services for persons living with Alzheimer’s disease and related dementias and their caregivers, as well as the expansion of the Alzheimer’s Disease Initiative from the years 2009 through 2016.

History: Previous ADI Advisory Committee Chairs & Terms of Service

John “Malcom” Randall, AB, Honorary Doctorate of Public Service, University of FL, 1986 – 2001
Gainesville, FL

Fran Carlin-Rogers, BA, NHA, 2001 - 2006
Orlando, FL

Larry E. Butcher, 2006 - 2008
Stuart, FL

Cheryl A. Luis, PhD, ABPP-CN, 2008 - 2010
Sarasota, FL

Jamie L. Glavich, CDP, 2010 - 2012
Jacksonville, FL

Frank M. Webbe, PhD, 2012 - 2014
Melbourne, FL

Christine Lecher Powers, BA, MS-HSA, 2014 – 2016
Largo, FL

Leilani Doty, PhD, 2016 to 2017
Gainesville, FL

Return to Top